Grow Deep: Holy Week

Grow Deep: Holy Week Edition

From the Stations of the Cross



The Stations of the Cross are a devotional tool connected with medieval pilgrims returning from their journeys to Jerusalem. They sought to bring back their reflections on Jesus’ path of suffering (Via Dolorosa). Like modern travelers posting their vacation pictures on Facebook, The Stations of the Cross, was image driven and meant to be shared with others. 

Over the centuries, the Franciscans developed the 14 stations that are traditionally observed today. Not all the stations have a specific link to a scriptural event. For example, the scriptures do not describe three falls of Jesus or the woman, Veronica wiping his brow. These imagines, however, embrace the pious imaginations of those early pilgrims reflecting on their Savior’s love. Their meditations provided tools for millions who would never travel on pilgrimage to Jerusalem to take that journey by faith with Jesus and reflect upon His way of sorrows.


Grow Deep

With just ten words, the Apostles’ Creed summaries Jesus’ way of suffering, “…suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died and was buried…” This Holy Week, we invite you to Grow Deep and ponder Jesus’ road to the cross for you. Fourteen scriptures have been selected to connect with the traditional Stations of the Cross. Typically our “Grow Deep” reflections provide questions for reflection, but in this series we invite you to let the words of scripture provoke your imagination in a pilgrimage with Jesus. Like those early pilgrims, picture yourself with Jesus. Allow your imagination to prompt the meditations of your heart and your prayers. Journal, draw, Facebook and creatively engage the story. Trace Jesus’ way of the cross over your own daily steps. Share your experiences and invitations to meet Jesus with those you meet just as pilgrims of old did when they returned.


Palm Sunday

First Station: Jesus is condemned to death

Scripture: Matthew 27:22-25



Monday Morning

Second Station: Jesus carries his cross

Scripture: John 19:16-17

Monday Evening

Third Station: Jesus falls the first time

Scripture: Philippians 2:5-8



Tuesday Morning

Fourth Station: Jesus meets his mother

Scripture: Luke 2:34-35

Tuesday Evening

Fifth Station: Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus carry the cross

Scripture: Mark 15:21-22



Wednesday Morning

Sixth Station: Veronica wipes the face of Jesus

Scripture: Matthew 25:37-40

Wednesday Evening

Seventh Station: Jesus falls the second time

Scripture: 1 Peter 2:24



Maundy Thursday Morning

Eighth Station: Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem

Scripture: Luke 23:27-31

Maundy Thursday Evening

Ninth Station: Jesus falls the third time

Scripture: Psalm 22:1-2



Good Friday Morning

Tenth Station: Jesus is stripped of his garments

Scripture: John 19:23-24

Good Friday 9:00 a.m. – The Third Hour

Eleventh Station: Crucifixion: Jesus is nailed to the cross

Scripture: Mark 15:25-30

Good Friday Noon – The Sixth Hour

Twelfth Station: Jesus dies on the cross

Scripture: Luke 23:44-46

Good Friday 3:00 p.m. – The Ninth Hour

Thirteenth Station: Jesus is taken down from the cross

Scripture: Mark 15:42-45



Saturday Morning

Fourteenth Station: Jesus is laid in the tomb.

Scripture: John 19:40-42